Modularity 2016
Mon 14 - Thu 17 March 2016 Spain


We thank all authors for their contributions and all PC members for their insightful reviews. To expose the accepted work to a larger audience, we asked the MASS workshop to include a session on Reflection and thereby facilitate discussion between audience and presenters.

The following papers were accepted for presentation:

  • Static Meta-Object Protocols: Towards Efficient Reflective Object-Oriented Languages, Tony Clark
  • Towards Projection: Mapping Reflection onto the Userland, Nick Papoulias, Serge Stinckwich
  • A Design of Deep Reification, Shigeru Chiba, YungYu Zhuang, Maximilian Scherr

Next Edition

A followup workshop is planed as Meta’16 co-located with Splash 2016.

Call for Papers

Workshop on Reflection and Runtime Meta-Programming Techniques

With modern mainstream languages embracing runtime reflection, for instance in JavaScript with proxies and Ruby with its culture of using meta-programming, the research on meta-architectures, reflective programming, and other meta-programming techniques have become relevant and timely once again. Over the last couple of years, these techniques saw a surge of interest benefiting from the JavaScript standardization process as well as performance improvements based on just-in-time compilation that increased their general acceptance.

The Reflect’16 workshop aims to bring together people who do research on reflection and runtime meta-programming, as well as users of such techniques to e.g. build applications, language extensions, or software tools. We invite contributions to the workshop on a wide range of topics related to design, implementation, and application of reflective APIs and runtime meta-programming techniques, as well as empirical studies and typing for such systems and languages.

We welcome technical papers as well as work-in-progress and position papers from the academic as well as industrial perspective. Position paper should take a perhaps controversial stance on a specific topic and argue the position well.

Topics of Interest

The topics of interest for the workshop include, but are not limited to:

  • applications to middleware, frameworks, and DSLs
  • reflection and metaobject protocols to enable tooling
  • meta-level architectures and reflective middleware for modern runtime platforms (e.g. IoT, cyber-physical systems, cloud/grid computing, exa-scale systems, smart grids, mobile systems)
  • optimization techniques to minimize runtime overhead of reflection
  • use for application-level runtime optimization
  • new language constructs for reflection and meta-programming
  • security in reflective systems and capability-based designs
  • application of reflective techniques to achieve adaptability, separation of concerns, code reuse, etc.
  • empirical studies to the dynamic behavior of reflective programs
  • application to enable complex concurrent systems
  • typing of reflective programs

Workshop Format and Submissions

This workshop welcomes the presentation of mature work as well as discussion of new ideas and emerging problems as part of a mini-conference format. Furthermore, we plan for more interactive brainstorming and demonstration sessions between the formal presentations to enable an active exchange of ideas.

The workshop papers will be published in both the electronic proceedings of the Modularity conference and in the ACM Digital Library, if not requested otherwise by the authors. Papers are to be submitted using the ACM SIGPLAN template at 9pt font size. See

position and work-in-progress paper: max. 4 pages
technical paper: max. 8 pages
demos and posters: 1-page abstract

For the submission, please use the EasyChair system.

Important Dates

abstract submission: January 11, 2016 (optional)
paper submission: January 15, 2016
notification: February 6, 2016
camera-ready: February 22, 2016
all deadlines: Anywhere on Earth (AoE), i.e., GMT/UTC−12:00 hour

Workshop Organizers

Gilad Bracha, Google
Shigeru Chiba, University of Tokyo
Elisa Gonzalez Boix, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
Stefan Marr, Johannes Kepler University Linz

Program Committee

Daniele Bonetta, Oracle Labs, Austria
Damien Cassou, University of Lille 1, France
Siobhan Clarke, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
Stephane Ducasse, Inria, France
Robert Hirschfeld, HPI, Germany
Hridesh Rajan, Iowa State University, USA
Romain Rouvoy, University Lille 1 and INRIA, France
Eric Tanter, University of Chile, Chile
Laurie Tratt, King’s College, UK
Tom Van Cutsem, Bell Labs, Belgium
Takuo Watanabe, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
Tijs van der Storm, CWI, NL