Write a Blog >>
ICER 2020
Sun 9 - Thu 13 August 2020

You are warmly invited to the sixteenth annual ACM International Computing Education Research (ICER) conference, which will be held … in your home!

The online conference will now be four days: 11-14 August 2020, each day 830 am-1200 New Zealand Standard Time (and 10-13 August 2020 in North America and Europe, each day starting at 1:30 pm PDT | 3:30 pm CDT | 4:30 pm EDT | 2030 UTC | 2230 CET). Each day will have a 3.5 hour schedule of single track talks, parallel track talks, networking sessions, and ample social breaks. The doctoral consortium and works-in-progress will occur the day before the main conference. All research paper presentations will be pre-recorded, and discussed live. See our evolving virtual conference page for more details on the format.

We had hoped to welcome you all to Dunedin, New Zealand this year, but because of the COVID-19 pandemic the excitement of ICER is now happening online! We are filled with mixed emotions: sad that we can’t all enjoy the freezing August rains together in person but thrilled to be able to experiment with this new format! Please block your calendars for these dates and times.

ICER is a highly regarded forum for presenting and publishing high-quality research in computing education. With a strong emphasis on discussion and feedback, ICER affords a convivial and supportive environment for established and emerging researchers alike. There are so many reasons to attend the conference this year:

  • The inaugural ‘virtual ICER!’ Whether this ends up being a one-off occurrence, or the first in a new age of online or blended conferences, you want to be able to say in years to come: “I was there!”
  • A lower registration rate! (like … a lot lower!)
  • This year, research papers will have a 10 page limit excluding references. Yes, you read that correctly – ten … full pages … of mouthwatering ICER content per paper!
  • There is something for everyone in the eclectic range of topics on offer at an ICER conference, making for an interesting and thought-provoking event for all in attendance!
  • ICER also hosts posters and lightning talks (3-minute presentations) which are used to articulate an idea for a research study, provide an update on current research, or invite collaborators!
  • The Work in Progress Workshop held prior to the conference provides participants with an opportunity to gain critical and in-depth feedback on their research ideas or projects!
  • A staple for doctoral students, ICER also plays host to the SIGCSE Doctoral Consortium, held the day before the main conference! Participants will also present their work at the conference in a dedicated poster session!
  • Some truly amazing conference food! (depending, of course, on what’s left in your fridge…)

 

So, get those webcams ready because we look forward to ‘seeing’ you @ ICER2020 in August!