Write a Blog >>
ICGSE 2018
Sun 27 - Tue 29 May 2018 Gothenburg, Sweden
co-located with * ICSE 2018 *

Main Page ICGSE 2018

Call for Research Papers

We invite research paper submissions of novel work in the broad area of global software engineering (GSE). Papers might describe empirical studies, theoretical frameworks, technical solutions, or educational studies and experiences. Empirical studies are welcome to report empirical evidence ranging from controlled experiments to case studies and from quantitative to qualitative studies, including those that use mixed-methods.

Areas of Interest

We are especially interested in eliciting experiences with organizing, setting up, kicking-off, managing, working in, evaluating, improving, and terminating Large-scale distributed projects, Distributed Lean and Agile projects, and Virtual teams.

A list of topics of particular interest to the conference can be found at the ICGSE 2018 Main Page.

Submission Types

Full papers (max 10 pages) and short papers (max 5 pages), including those dedicated to training and education.

Submissions and Publishing

Research papers will be published in the ICGSE proceedings. The papers should be formatted according to ACM formatting guidelines, see ICSE2018 formatting instructions: https://www.icse2018.org/track/icse-2018-Double-blind-review#Formatting. (Note that at ICGSE we do not use double-blind review.) Even though the format is ACM, the proceedings will be produced by IEEE and the papers will appear in the digital libraries of both ACM and IEEE.

Papers should be submitted through the conference EasyChair submission site (see the banner).

Best Research Papers

Authors of the best research papers will be invited to submit a revised and extended version of their papers to a special section on GSE in an issue of the Information and Software Technology journal published by Elsevier.


  • Darja Šmite, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden

  • Roberto Evaristo, Exospect, USA

If you have any questions or comments, please contact the Program Chairs, email: ICGSE_ProgramChairs@itu.dk

Program Committee

Ivana Bosnic, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Ricardo Britto, Ericsson, Sweden

Narayan Ramasubbu, University of Pittsburgh, US

Mansooreh Zahedi, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Mahmood Niazi, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia

Igor Scaliante Wiese, Federal University of Technology – Paraná – UTFPR, Brazil

Anh Nguyen Duc, University College of Southeast Norway, Norway

Jürgen Münch, Reutlingen University, Germany

Klaas-Jan Stol, Lero, University College Cork, Ireland

Filippo Lanubile, University of Bari, Italy

Alberto Avritzer, Performance Engineering Consultant, USA

Rini Van Solingen, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Josiane Kroll, University of Manitoba, Canada

Julian Bass, University of Salford, UK

Daniela Cruzes, SINTEF, Norway

Stefanie Betz, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Leonardo Murta, UFF, Brazil

Tony Clear, Auckland University of Technology, New Zealand

Igor Steinmacher, Universidade Tecnológica Federal do Paraná, Brazil

Yi Wang, IBM Almaden Research Center, US

Alpana Dubey, Accenture, India

Christof Ebert, Vector, Germany

Fabio Calefato, University of Bari, Italy

Martin Naedele, ABB Corporate Research, Switzerland

John Noll, University of East London, UK

Ban Al-Ani, ADP, US

Daniela Damian, University of Victoria, Canada

Anita Sarma, Oregon State University, US

Casper Lassenius, Aalto University, Finland

Bedir Tekinerdogan, Wageningen University, The Netherlands

Sabrina Marczak, PUCRS, Brazil

Akinori Ihara, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Helen Sharp, The Open University, UK

Nils Brede Moe, SINTEF, Norway

Alexander Nolte, University of Pittsburgh, US

Juho Mäkiö, University of Applied Sciences Emden, Germany

David Redmiles, University of California, Irvine, US

Marco Kuhrmann, Clausthal University of Technology, Germany

Giuseppe Valetto, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy

Aurora Vizcaíno, Universidad de Castilla - La Mancha, Spain

Paolo Tell, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Viktoria Stray, University of Oslo, Norway