SEAMS 2023
Mon 15 - Tue 16 May 2023 Melbourne, Australia
co-located with ICSE 2023

We have two sources of travel support for attending ICSE 2023. The two sources are the SIGSOFT CAPS and the NSF travel award. You may apply to both the SIGSOFT CAPS award and the NSF travel award, if you are qualified – please see the information below about the NSF travel award.


The SIGSOFT CAPS program provides travel and registration support for students and researchers. The support is available for anyone who fits into one or more of the following categories:

  1. participants who identify as being a member of an underrepresented racial or ethnic group(s) in the place they work,
  2. participants based in low income and lower middle income countries as identified by the World Bank List of Economies,
  3. undergraduate students,
  4. SIGSOFT members (both student and professional), or
  5. members of the SE community who cannot afford the registration fee.

NSF Support for US-based Participants

Financial support for attending ICSE is expected to be available for student researchers via the NSF ICSE 2023 travel awards. Recipients must be students at U.S. institutions. Priorities will be given to:

  • Students whose participation improves the diversity of computing research.

  • Students participating in the Student Mentoring Workshop or Doctoral Symposium.

  • Applicants who could not attend without a travel award.

  • Authors of papers accepted to the technical program, an ICSE workshop, or a co-located event.

  • U.S. citizens and permanent residents.


To apply, please use the following form. Applications are due on March 24, 2023. The award notification is on April 7, 2023.


We gratefully acknowledge the support of the U.S. National Science Foundation for making these travel awards possible. The opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed at the conference do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.


NSF ICSE 2023 Travel Award Committee

  • Mattia Fazzini, University of Minnesota, USA
  • Nan Niu, University of Cincinnati, USA
  • Federica Sarro, University College London, USA
  • Denys Poshyvanyk, College of William & Mary, USA
  • Mohamed Abdelrazek, Deakin University, Australia