CSEE&T 2023
Mon 7 - Wed 9 August 2023 Tokyo, Japan

Award 2023 Winner: Gregory Hislop

Nancy Mead Award for Excellence in Software Engineering Education

The CSEE&T Steering committee received many nominations including carried-over ones for the award in May 2023. The award 2023 is given to Prof. Dr. Gregory Hislop (Drexel University) for his outstanding contributions. He has been a member of the software engineering education community for over 25 years and was instrumental in creating the initial curricula for the BS and MS in Software Engineering. He has published extensively in the area of software engineering education having many publications.

Former Call for Nominations

The CSEE&T Steering committee is seeking nominations for the 2023 Nancy Mead Award for Excellence in Software Engineering Education. Please nominate someone you know who has made important contributions to software engineering education or training. See the terms of reference and the list of previous winners below. Please note that self-nominations are not permitted.

Each nomination should include a sketch of the accomplishments (in SE education) of the candidate, including a few paragraphs in narrative form and a list of relevant items from their CV. The name of the person submitting the nomination must also be present. Please limit nominations to three single-spaced pages. Remember to focus on education, training and professionalism accomplishments, rather than pure software engineering accomplishments.

Compose your nomination in a PDF file and submit it using the following URL: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=cseet2023

As has been agreed practice, the selection committee consists of the past winners plus the CSEE&T steering committee, plus Nancy Mead herself. Deadline for nominations is May 12th, 2023. The award will be presented at CSEE&T in August 2023. The recipient will be given the opportunity to deliver a keynote at CSEE&T.

Returning officers for the 2023 award will be:

  • Hironori Washizaki, Waseda University, washizaki [at] waseda.jp
  • Daniel Port, University of Hawaii at Manoa, dport [at] hawaii.edu

Terms of Reference

The award will be presented to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to software engineering education and training, as well as to the related area of software engineering professionalism. Contributions may include, but are not limited to: service to the community, papers, reports, books, tools, techniques and media for software engineering education, and outstanding practice of teaching that has been witnessed by the community at large. Contributions should have had an influence over an extended period of time at the international level. Contributions to software engineering itself (peer-reviewed research or practice) should be mentioned in a separate section of any nomination, but having made such contributions is not necessary in order to receive this award.

The award is named in honor of Nancy Mead, the founding Steering Committee Chair of the Conference on Software Engineering Education and Training.

For the initial years, the award will be selected by the Steering Committee of CSEE&T and previous winners. Steering Committee members are not eligible. Nominations received in any given year that are not selected as the winner that year may be kept for further consideration in subsequent years. If a nomination is to be considered in a subsequent year, the nominator will be offered the opportunity to update the nomination.

Past Winners

  • 2022: Ian Sommerville
  • 2021: (no conference)
  • 2020: Pierre Bourque
  • 2019: (no award)
  • 2018: (no conference)
  • 2017: David Garlan
  • 2016: Dick Fairley
  • 2015: Barry Boehm
  • 2014: Don Bagert
  • 2013: Dennis J Frailey
  • 2012: (no award)
  • 2011: Tom Hilburn
  • 2010: Mary Shaw