Write a Blog >>

Embedded and cyber-physical systems (e.g., avionics, robotics, medical devices, IoT devices) are different from traditional systems: they are environment (e.g., hardware) dependent; they are distributed and can employ different concurrency control mechanisms to coordinate software components; they can have timing and performance constraints; they are heterogeneous and different components can be written in different languages; they have high security concerns. These characteristics render inapplicable the static and dynamic analysis techniques on which the traditional testing techniques (e.g., coverage, automated test case generation) rely. Therefore, applying these approaches can result in inadequately tested software.

The objective of this workshop is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners to discuss the challenges in testing real-world embedded and cyber-physical software systems, exchange ideas, and propose solutions to the challenges. The workshop also aims to bring researchers and practitioners together, identify the gap between theory and practice, and provide insights for future work.

The ISSTA Workshop on Testing Embedded and Cyber-Physical Systems (TECPS) will be co-located with ISSTA in Santa Barbara, California. The workshop will take place on Thursday, July 13th, 2017: the day after the main ISSTA conference. TECPS covers a wide range of issues and topics including how to perform effective and efficient analysis on large-scale and complex embedded and cyber-physical systems, how the characteristics of these systems affect the maintainability of these systems, how to handle bugs and security issues that are specific to these systems, how to automatically generate test cases and test oracles, how to monitor and diagnose these systems, and how integration between applications and lower-level software components can be improved to facilitate testing for certain types of systems.

Workshop Format

TECPS is a participatory workshop, where attendees will have the opportunity to actively engage in the many discussion activities planned for the workshop. Authors whose abstracts or short papers are accepted will give presentations. Sessions will be organized around the workshop theme and determined by the organizing committee. The workshop will include keynote presentations and invited talks around the original vision of TECPS.

Accepted Papers


Call for Submissions

Two types of submissions are invited:

  • One page (or less) structured abstracts: Abstracts will be selected by the organizing committee. Selected abstracts will be presented at the workshop.

  • 2-4 page short papers: Papers will be reviewed by the organizing committee. Accepted papers will be included in the ISSTA workshop proceedings and presented at the workshop.

Both types of submission should describe at least one primary thrust of your prior or current work. Your submission could be a summary of the primary challenge you have addressed in testing embedded and cyber-physical systems, or it could describe current work you are engaged in, or it could present a challenge even without any current solution.

All papers must be formatted using ACM Conference formatting guidelines.

Papers should be submitted via EasyChair.

You're viewing the program in a time zone which is different from your device's time zone - change time zone

Thu 13 Jul
Times are displayed in time zone: (GMT-07:00) Tijuana, Baja California change

09:00 - 10:00: TECPS - Keynote at ESB 2001
Chair(s): Tingting YuUniversity of Kentucky
issta-2017-tecps09:00 - 10:00
Michael WhalenUniversity of Minnesota
10:30 - 12:00: TECPS - Session 1 at ESB 2001
Chair(s): Alex GyoriUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
issta-2017-tecps10:30 - 11:00
Chao WangUniversity of Southern California
issta-2017-tecps11:00 - 11:30
John-Paul OreUniversity of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA
issta-2017-tecps11:30 - 12:00
Vaibhav SharmaUniversity of Minnesota, Taejoon ByunUniversity of Minnesota, Stephen McCamantUniversity of Minnesota, Sanjai RayadurgamUniversity of Minnesota, Mats HeimdahlUniversity of Minnesota
13:30 - 15:00: TECPS - Session 2 at ESB 2001
Chair(s): Kristen Walcott-Justice
issta-2017-tecps13:30 - 14:00
Stephen McCamantUniversity of Minnesota
issta-2017-tecps14:00 - 14:30
Tingting YuUniversity of Kentucky
issta-2017-tecps14:30 - 15:00
Alex GroceNorthern Arizona University, Paul FlikkemaNorthern Arizona University, Josie HolmesPennsylvania State University, USA
15:30 - 17:30: TECPS - Session 3 at ESB 2001
Chair(s): Stephen McCamantUniversity of Minnesota
issta-2017-tecps15:30 - 16:00
Alex GyoriUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA, Earlence FernandesUniversity of Michigan, Amir RahmatiUniversity of Michigan, Atul PrakashUniversity of Michigan, Darko MarinovUniversity of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
issta-2017-tecps16:00 - 16:30
Hong-Linh TruongTU Wien, Luca BerardinelliJohannes Kepler University Linz
issta-2017-tecps16:30 - 17:00
Amin AlipourUniversity of Houston